Final day at the Valley of the Rogue State Park

Another beautiful start to a day, Blue skies, bright sun, and a pretty empty campground. I would be happy if every day could start that way.

DCIM999GOPRO

DCIM999GOPRO

But we had things to do so kicking back and enjoying the morning was not in the cards.

The first thing we had to deal with was Diane’s doctor appointment at 10:30. Amazingly they were right on schedule and we were headed into the exam room right at 10:30, wow, how often does that happen.

I always go in with her during the question and answer period but leave the room when they get down to the nitty gritty. Diane sometimes,,, forgets,,, to tell me things so I figure an extra set of ears isn’t a bad idea LOL!! Everything looked good but we will have to wait for the test results which could take a week or two.

Things went so well at the doctor’s office that we were on the road to our next task for the day and was sitting at the DMV well before noon. The tags on the Jeep do not expire until Sept 24th but I hate trying to renew them and play tag with mail. We have done it but I was told by the main DMV office in Salem that I could renew the tags 120 days in advance and I certainly would rather deal with the DMV in Grants Pass than in Portland next week or by mail while bouncing from spot to spot.

Once we were standing in front of the DMV employee I was informed that it had to be within 90 days!!! OH NOOOOO!!! I explained that I was not trying to question her but I was informed by the main DMV office in Salem that it I could renew within 120 days. She then showed me her screen and how it would not allow her to make the transaction work. She then said she would check with her manager. When she came back she explained that what the Salem office did not say is that it would need to be approved and by the branch manager so the screen could be overridden. And in the same breath said that will be $86 for your new tags. We were happy campers!!

That took care of all our tasks for the day. We stopped for a bite to eat and then headed home. The rest of the day was filled with reading and a bike ride and breaking down camp so we could get an early start for our travels to Eugene Wednesday morning. He had to be on the road at 6:30.

During our bike ride we were probably only 1 ½ miles from home when I could feel my eye’s starting to water and itch something fierce. I could almost feel the pollen hitting my face it was so thick in the air. About the same time Diane mentioned that her knee was bothering her, so of course being the gentleman I am I told her we could turn around. (Because of her knee of course, not my eyes LOL!!)

A nice walking and bike trail behind the Valley of the Rogue state park.

A nice walking and bike trail behind the Valley of the Rogue state park.

By the time we got home my eyes were all swollen and my sinuses were playing havoc with me. It didn’t take me long to take a Benadryl and lay back in my chair with a cold damp washcloth with ice in it over my eyes. I was pretty much toast the rest of the evening. After a shower we found ourselves in bed my 9pm with the alarm set for 5am. I had almost forgotten that I had allergies until this little bout.

Valley of the Rogue State Park campground

Valley of the Rogue State Park campground

That's us on the left with Diane's Prius parked out front and Rich & Chris on the right while camping at the Valley of the Rogue State Park.

That’s us on the left with Diane’s Prius parked out front and Rich & Chris on the right while camping at the Valley of the Rogue State Park.

We had a great 10 day stay while in the Grants Pass area but it’s time to move on. If you are ever rolling through the area a need a place to stay the Valley of the Rogue State Park isn’t a bad place to do it.

We will be looking forward to seeing all of our friends again next year when we pass through.

This entry was posted in A little about us and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Final day at the Valley of the Rogue State Park

  1. explorvistas says:

    I hear you on the Benedryl, Dave. A dose of that pretty much ends all productivity for the day. 🙂

    Jim

Leave a Reply

