Still hanging around Grants Pass

I don’t know why it is that when we land in the Grants Pass area I just don’t seem to keep up on our updates. Maybe in some strange way it’s because it’s where we started from, I don’t know. But rest assured, we have been taking care of business that we always like to do while in Oregon and away from sales tax like getting new tires for the Jeep and buying whatever clothing items we feel we might be in need of over the next year like sandals, boots, and anything else we might be in need of OR even close to needing. Hey, when tires for the Jeep are $350 each it’s a big savings by not paying a sales tax.

New shoes for the Jeep. 35x12.50x17 Nitto EXO Grapplers. Less aggressive than the Nitto Trail Grapplers I have been running on jeeps since 2008. I hope these perform as well. I know they won't do nearly as well in mud but now that we fulltime we are not in areas where we find much mud any more. You just don't find mud where the sun shines :)

New shoes for the Jeep. 35×12.50×17 Nitto EXO Grapplers. Less aggressive than the Nitto Trail Grapplers I have been running on jeeps since 2008. I hope these perform as well. I know they won’t do nearly as well in mud but now that we fulltime we are not in areas where we find much mud any more. You just don’t find mud where the sun shines 🙂

And we have had a great time visiting with friends. But unfortunately one evening Diane said, I’m getting a sore throat and by the next morning she was coughing and wheezing and before you know it she had completely lost her voice!! That put visiting with friends to a screeching halt.

I’m not going to make any smart ass remarks about how quiet it was around the house for the week she couldn’t talk, that just wouldn’t be right would it. Nope, instead I’ll say how concerned we were that she may not be able to go on her dive trip that has been planned for the last few months. First off getting on a plane in the condition she was in just wouldn’t work. And there would be no way she could dive in that condition. But as it turned out she had just enough time to heal enough to make the trip. She flew out Saturday the 26th headed towards Puerto Rico where her and 2 of her close friends would catch a ship and tour St. Thomas, Barbados, St. Lucia, St. Kitts, St Maarten and San Juan. I’m sure she will enjoy the “Girls outing”

I on the other hand I don’t even swim so I have never had the urge to go on any of her diving trips, that and it’s been a great time for her to have alone time with some old friends doing what they like to do. AND I get a little alone time. Don’t take that wrong, we enjoy being together but when we had the stick & bricks she would take 3 or 4 small outings to visit with her family in Portland or go on diving trips and I would take a couple motorcycle trips a year that gave us some alone time or time apart, something we have not really done since we hit the road almost 3 years ago.

A shot taken by the "toy" of Agate Lake RC airfield. The runway is 600'. Nice shelters and pit toilets.

A shot taken by the “toy” of Agate Lake RC airfield. The runway is 600′. Nice shelters and pit toilets.

For my “alone time” enjoyment one of the things I’ve done is made a few trips to the RC Airfield learning to fly my new plane. On my first time out I took it to an airfield had had a guy check it over and take it for its maiden flight. After his flight and landing he took off again and handed me the controls (I was expecting to be on a buddy box). I flew a few laps around the field and he landed it and we checked the plane over. He then said, I think you can take off with it, how do you feel. I said sure.

When the airfield starts getting a small crowd I normally pack up and leave or become a spectator. That will change when I become a better flier.

When the airfield starts getting a small crowd I normally pack up and leave or become a spectator. That will change when I become a better flier.

I should mention that he turned out to be a firm believer that even a beginner should be able to feel the plane for what it can do WITHOUT the beginner assist so we were flying in expert mode.

Even though a bit nervous I was able to take off AND LAND in expert mode with his verbal assistance.

He had another student there to attend to so I figured what the heck and put my battery on the charger and grabbed by second battery, switched the plane to beginner mode and flew the rest of the day doing a number of landings, take offs, and touch n Goes without any mishaps.

The few other pilots that were there were kind enough to not fly during my first attempt, not sure if they were being kind or just wanted to make sure they didn’t miss a good crash. But it made me feel more comfortable. I couldn’t have felt luckier to walk away unscathed that day.

First day I ever took the plane to an RC airfield. I was almost nervous just having it setting on the table LOL!!

First day I ever took the plane to an RC airfield. I was almost nervous just having it setting on the table LOL!!

Since then I have been out probably 5 times and am now flying solely in advanced mode and have been practicing loops, rolls, stalls and other maneuvers and having a great time doing so. I pretty much go on the weekdays because I don’t have the confidence to fly with a bunch of people around yet, but that will come in time.

And it’s just impossible to be in the Grants Pass area and not spend some time along the Rogue River. We have always just enjoyed bouncing from one spot to another along the river just chilling and taking in the beautiful surroundings. And this time has been no exception. I’ll just share a few pictures and I’m sure you will understand.

IMG_6715 IMG_6747

I've always loved this spot as well. Just sit back beyond that large rock by the small rapids and space out.

I’ve always loved this spot as well. Just sit back beyond that large rock by the small rapids and space out.

Well, space out and maybe wave at a rafter or two LOL!!

Well, space out and maybe wave at a rafter or two LOL!!

IMG_6738 IMG_6731 IMG_6722 IMG_6721 IMG_6713 DCIM999GOPRO

Another shot from the "toy" of the Chair area. And this was taken on a Saturday. The crowds were almost out of control.

Another shot from the “toy” of the Chair area. And this was taken on a Saturday. The crowds were almost out of control.

A spot along the Rogue on Galice Road called Chair. A spot where you can almost always drive to and nobody will be around. One reason I like it.

A spot along the Rogue on Galice Road called Chair. A spot where you can almost always drive to and nobody will be around. One reason I like it.

Well there you have it, a whirlwind update. I will be hanging around Grants Pass until the 3rd of May and then I will move the rig to just outside of Portland. Diane will fly back into Portland on the 3rd also and we will spend 2 weeks there visiting her family. It should be a good time.

This entry was posted in A little about us and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still hanging around Grants Pass

  1. Lar says:

    Hey Dave, did you sell any of your super ingenious RC plane storage units?? I figured they would sell like hotcakes. Maybe more for the full time RV gang?

  2. What a beautiful area. We’ll need to get up there and spend some time exploring. Thanks for the pics.

Leave a Reply

