A long over due update

YEP, we are still alive and kickin LOL!!!

It has been roughly 3 weeks since our last update, I’m almost ashamed. It seemed we stayed so busy every day for a while and I slipped into another of those (I’m behind and hate playing catch up) modes. But I will at least try to do a shotgun effect catch up post. Some things I will need to come back to at a later date and do a better write up on.

Coleen and Lee invited us and Rich & Chris over for a Cajun dinner one afternoon. The food was fantastic and the company even better! I’m not positive but I think I ate more than anyone else LOL!!

We had a GREAT Cajun dinner at Lee and Coleen's

We had a GREAT Cajun dinner at Lee and Coleen’s

And Lee and I got together for a scooter ride one day that took us out through some great country. We landed at a Roadhouse for some lunch and then took another direction home that took us through Jacksonville and the Applegate Valley. Just a nice relaxing way to spend part of a day.

IMG_0366 IMG_0363

That's Lee up there on one of our mid week scooter rides.

That’s Lee up there on one of our mid week scooter rides.

Days like that make me miss having the trike along and make me start looking at options to bring it in the future.

And Rich & Chris threw a big BBQ for a bunch of friends. I think we had 17 that were able to make it. Rich & Chris and us provided the Tri-Tips and then everyone else brought side dishes. We were NOT going hungry.

3 Tri-Tip on the charcoal Weber grill

3 Tri-Tip on the charcoal Weber grill

And 2 more Tri-Tip on the Weber gas grill

And 2 more Tri-Tip on the Weber gas grill

20140817_142650

We hadn’t seen some of these people for almost 2 years so it was great catching up. And while catching up out of the blue Lee, Larry, Jim and I threw together a motorcycle ride to Reno. Yep, the BBQ was on Sunday and we decided that Wednesday we would meet at 9am and Ride to Reno.

Part of the crew at the BBQ at Rich and Chris's place

Part of the crew at the BBQ at Rich and Chris’s place

Another bunch at the BBQ

Another bunch at the BBQ

Coleen and Diane

Coleen and Diane

I think Diane ate too much!!! She broke Chris's chair when she sat in it. Oh, that's Felix looking on wondering what the heck is going on.

I think Diane ate too much!!! She broke Chris’s chair when she sat in it. Oh, that’s Felix looking on wondering what the heck is going on.

Oh boy,,,, this looks like trouble in the making.

Oh boy,,,, this looks like trouble in the making.

Oh lord,,, have those two drank to much again!!!!

Oh lord,,, have those two drank to much again!!!!

It was a fast ride down and back, Lee had company coming the following Sunday so needed to be back to get ready and Jim was preparing for a wedding the following weekend and also needed to be back to prepare. I packed enough for 4 days just in case I decided to continue on alone but didn’t.

And that's Jim (AKA Road Apple)

And that’s Jim (AKA Road Apple)

That's Larry

That’s Larry

That's Lee

That’s Lee

It felt really good to be riding with friends again. We used to do this type of thing on a regular basis if even just for a 1 day trip. Once again it had me thinking of just how I could pull off bringing the trike along without a big hassle. I even considered getting rid of the trike and going back to 2 wheels with a lift on the motorhome. Time will tell.

IMG_6651 IMG_6613

I have always loved the ride from Grants Pass to Reno. That's Jim, Larry and Lee up there.

I have always loved the ride from Grants Pass to Reno. That’s Jim, Larry and Lee up there.

Jim (Left) and Larry (Right) on our Reno ride

Jim (Left) and Larry (Right) on our Reno ride

One thing was for sure, we rode roughly 650 to 700 miles those 2 days and my rear end is not used to being in the saddle like it used to be LOL!!

Diane went to Portland for a week by herself to visit with her mom and brother while I stayed in Grants Pass. She had some family business to take care of and wanted to spend some good solid time with her mom.

Plus ya know what? We had not spent any time apart in the almost 2 years we have been on the road so a little alone time on my part wasn’t all that bad either (and I’m not meaning that in a mean or bad way at all).

Right after Diane returned from Portland she house sat for Rich & Chris while they made a trip to Las Vegas for a few days. It gave her a great chance to spend time with Jack and Felix (Rich & Chris’s dog) playing. She had a great time and was quick to volunteer for the job if needed when we return next. (And I might have some surprising news to talk about in a future update about this as well)

WAIT FOR IT

WAIT FOR IT

WAIT FOR IT

WAIT FOR IT

WHAT THE !!!!!

WHAT THE !!!!!

Whaaaaat ???

Whaaaaat ???

20140822_114055

And of course we have gone out to numerous meals with a number of friends and I feel bad that I have not been getting pictures to document some of the fun times.

Now let me just touch slightly on a couple things that I will want to come back to at a later date and do a more thorough write up on.

The first one being our new Green Mountain Dave Crocket Grill. If you remember a couple updates back I was talking about how I missed smoking meat while on the road. And I think I even supplied a link to the grill. WELL WE BOUGHT ONE!!!

Green Mountain Davey Crockett pellet smoker / BBQ

Green Mountain Davey Crockett pellet smoker / BBQ

So far we have done hamburgers, pork chops, chicken legs and ribs. That variety gave me a chance to see how it actually barbequed and seared meat as well as how it would smoke.

20140815_172303

I will report back after I have some more time to really test it out but so far it is passing with a fine grade.

It IS a little larger and harder to handle than the Baby Q was, and I knew it would be but like anything with a little getting used to I’m sure I will master the technique needed to set it up and take it down and get it stowed without much trouble. So watch for a better write up in the future.

Another thing I will touch base on and then do a better write up on later is my new TOY. I finally got the quad-copter I have been talking about!!

My new toy (I won't refer to it as a drone because as soon as you say drone people get all tense). A DJI Phantom 2 with a H3-3D gimbal and GoPro 3 Black camera, transmitter and 7" Black Pearl monitor.

My new toy (I won’t refer to it as a drone because as soon as you say drone people get all tense). A DJI Phantom 2 with a H3-3D gimbal and GoPro 3 Black camera, transmitter and 7″ Black Pearl monitor.

A picture taken from the Quad-copter on my first day of flying.

A picture taken from the Quad-copter on my first day of flying.

DCIM999GOPRO

So far I have taken it to a football field in the country and practiced roughly 3 hours with it and yesterday took it down by the river to get some flying and practice in. I guess I shouldn’t call it a TOY because this thing is a serious flying machine that will fly much much higher than the naked eye can see and moves along at a pretty good rate as well as being very nimble. But I will continue to call it my TOY or maybe the quad-copter and never call it a drone because people seem to get all up tight and some even down right irritable when they hear the word drone LOL.

So once again watch for a better write up after I get some real fly time in and can give a better report. But here is a link to a very boring training session in case you are interested. https://vimeo.com/104198029?utm_source=email&utm_medium=clip-transcode_complete-finished-20120100&utm_campaign=7701&email_id=Y2xpcF90cmFuc2NvZGVkfDk3NWVjNTdiMmVlMWM3MzFhOTJmNGYzMDE2NWRmNGQxODM4fDE4NjMwNTR8MTQwODgzMzM2M3w3NzAx

I know there are things I have messed but I think I have touched on the key things. The weather has been great. Temps hovering between the high 70’s to maybe touching 100 now and again and dry.

This entry was posted in A little about us. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A long over due update

  1. So, Glad to hear from you too, my Wife and I love reading your adventures an dream about the day we can take off..

  2. Good to hear from you again! LOL
    Will anxiously we waiting for your thoughts on the Phantom 2 setup.

    • Dave & Diane says:

      Thanks Steve, I know the Phantom is going o take our photo taking capabilities to the next level and add a new hobby while on the road.
      I will be doing a update on it once I figure out my editing software and can take some good pictures (well better) with it.

  3. Well alrighty… you have been busy and having lots of fun!!! Just good to hear from you and glad to know all is well :o))

  4. As with the others, great to hear from you. Melissa and I commented just the other day that we had not heard from you and were hoping everything was OK. From the report it surely sounds that way. Hope all the reports from the appointments were good. Like your flying machine. How difficult is that to fly if one has never flown a remote control flying machine in the past. I would be afraid of crashing the darn thing and with a GoPro on it, that could be a very costly crash. Looking forward to the follow-up posts. Kind regards,

    • Dave & Diane says:

      It’s not all that bad to fly especially if you keep the front pointed away from you so left is left, right is right and so on. When flying towards yourself the controls are backwards and in a pucker moment can cause a issue. And the GoPRo is the cheapest part of the setup LOL!!
      The hardest part for me is the editing of the video. I’m having a problem with my old editing software and compatibility right now. Nothing is ever easy LOL!!

  5. Dave, I’m noticing a trend in your blogs…you sure do show a lot of good eatin’ going on brother! LOL!!

  6. Lar says:

    Hi Dave, great report, as always. That flying machine looks like the perfect answer for checking out the neighbors, or spotting fish, or available camp sites, or ?????? That new smoker looks like a hand full to tear down each new camp, but sure the taste will make it worth it. Glad I was on the ride with you, it had been a loooooonnng time.

    • Dave & Diane says:

      Hell Lar,, first off you can’t believe the enjoyment I got out of our ride. It was just what the Dr. ordered. Secondly the smoker really isn’t that bad. Nothing comes apart per say. The legs fold up over the smoker box to create and creates a handle. The biggest issue is at a little over 50 lbs it’s a bit of a burger to slide into the storage compartment. BUT I have been working in a system that makes it a bit more easy. I will talk more about that on the update about the smoker LOL!! And the Flying Machine is a blast. We took it down to about 4 spots along the Rouge River yesterday and flew about 2 hours. Now if I can just leard how to do a better job editing.

Leave a Reply

