Another great day and a visit to Multnomah Falls and Tad’s

We had a pretty slow and casual start Monday morning 7/14/14. Maybe it was the drive in the rain and traffic the day before that played a part in that LOL!!

While I was out cleaning windows and Diane was finishing up in the shower Bob, Karen and Buddy (their dog) stopped by for a visit. We all gathered around the picnic table and had a nice chat and then went our separate ways with a loose plan of getting together later in the day.

Shortly after Diane headed out to visit with her mom and I decided to do some running around on my own.

One of the things I want to do while in Portland is decide if I’m really going to buy the Quad-copter I have been talking about or not. Now that I’m not working I pay a lot more attention to what I spend and the Quad-Copter isn’t a cheap toy so I don’t take it lightly. If I was still working it wouldn’t even be a question. One of the compromises we knew we would be making when I stopped working was not spending money freely like we once did. But we have no regrets.

There is a place in town that builds copters to order so I wanted to pay them a visit, and I did. After Diane headed to her mom’s I jumped in the Jeep and made my way to ATI (Aerial Technology International) in Clackamas.

It took me a min. to find the shop because it’s not your normal store front. It’s located in an industrial area and tucked away from the main road. But once there I was greeted by John and we discussed my wants and needs.

John asked if I wanted to see the back room where they work their magic, and of course I did. It’s a no nonsense setup and from what I saw they had 6 or 7 people working on various tasks.

20140714_140322 20140714_140408

It didn’t take long for me to figure out that what I consider a large purchase is probably small beans to ATI. They had some very nice toys (term used loosely) sitting around. In fact one of the copters would cost you $17,000 all decked out.

John mentioned that a lot of their business is agricultural based. Farmers wanting to use the copters to view crops I guess.

Anyway, after our talk John worked up a quote for me to take home so I could make a decision on just what features are important to me and so I could decide if I was ready to pull the trigger on buying one or not. They build them to order and would take roughly 2 weeks to build once I place an order. And because we are only going to be in town for just less than 2 weeks now I need to take that into consideration. I certainly don’t want to order one and have it not be ready when we leave the area.

Here is a link to ATI if you are interested. http://www.aerialtechnology.com/

After my visit to ATI I stopped at a RV Hobby Shop to have a look at another brand of Quad-Copter called a Blade 350. It very similar to the Phantom 2 I looked saw at ATI but just not as good I feel so I’m still leaning towards the Phantom.

It was getting close to 4PM by then so I decided to head home and digest the information I gathered. Shortly after I got home Diane rolled in as well. And within 15 minutes we had a text from Bob and Karen asking if we wanted to get together, and of course we did!!

It didn’t take us long to figure out a drive to Multnomah Falls was the thing to do so we loaded up in Diane’s Prius and headed out.

IMG_4512 IMG_4518

Multnomah Falls drops 620 feet in two major steps. The upper fall plunging 542 feet the lower fall 69 feet. Multnomah Falls as the highest waterfall in the state of Oregon and second highest in the nation.

IMG_4545 ROXB72E

IMG_4527

Here is a link to the falls if you are interested. http://columbiariverimages.com/Regions/Places/multnomah_falls.html

Taking highway 30 back was very scenic and took us by a couple other waterfalls as well like Horsetail Falls which has a 192ft drop.

IMG_4551

And Latourell Falls which has a 249ft plunge.

IMG_4560

And we stopped at Crown Point which was built in 1916 at the same time as Highway 30 (also more commonly known as the Historic Columbia River Gorge Highway).

IMG_4564 IMG_4566 IMG_4569

Here is a link about Crown Point if you are interested. http://www.oregonstateparks.org/index.cfm?do=parkPage.dsp_parkPage&parkId=108

As far back as our time at Multnomah Falls the girls were walking about being hungry so I was getting the feeling I was starting to push my luck with all the stops LOL!!! And by that time it was after 7PM so it only made sense to head directly to Tad’s Chicken & Dumplings to have a late dinner.

Tad’s has been around since the late 1920’s. Way back when prohibition was still in effect and Bonnie and Clyde were still making the news so it has been around a long time. And for good reason, it has a great setting right on the Sandy River, they give great service and have great food.

Everything I have ever eaten at Tad’s has been great but they are well known for their Chicken and Dumplings so of course we all had them. Karen and Diane had the original and Bob and I had the Fried version. It was Bob’s first experience with Dumplings and I think he enjoyed them. We were lucky enough to get a table on the open air deck with a great view of the river to enjoy our meal. It was 10pm by the time we finished and left the restaurant and headed home. And they gave us so much food that we each took home a to-go-box.

I get a kick out of the sign out front. It has been this way for at least the last 2 years so I think they might leave it for fun. One side shows:

20140714_220224

Or if you might prefer a little twist to your menu it shows this on the other side:

20140714_220308

Another full and fun day under our belts.

This entry was posted in A little about us and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another great day and a visit to Multnomah Falls and Tad’s

  1. Imagine what pictures you could get from your quadcopter while being “up close and personal” with the falls.

  2. Robert Pool says:

    Amazing shots, Dave!
    I’m just looking for a nice quadcopter for my business to lift my GoPro Hero 3. I’m thinking about this DJI Phantom http://quadcopterfly.com/phantom-quadcopter-gopro-mount-new-trends-aerial-shooting. Is it good enough? Do you have any suggestions? Thank you.

    • Dave & Diane says:

      Hello Robert!!
      I have done a fair amount of research and have decided that the DJI Phantom is a great way to go if you want to lake pictures or video from the air. And to carry a GoPro it is perfect. In fact it is probably the most popular thing on the market right now. I gave in yesterday and ordered a Phantom 2 with a H3-3D gimbal and a Iftron Tech Stinger Pro transmitter that will send a live feed to a 7″ Black Diamond monitor that will be mounted to the controller. Oh, and a extra battery.
      I’m hoping to get some great pictures in the future.

  3. Robert Pool says:

    Dave,
    thank you very much! I’ll order Phantom 2.

Leave a Reply

