Travel day to St. Augustine Florida

Friday morning has brought another travel day with it. While getting all packed for the road an old war injury (well not really a war injury) reared its ugly head.

I don’t normally have a bunch of aches and pains, I’m pretty solid. But somewhere about 25 years ago I lifted a solid wood garage door that had a busted spring wrong and wrenched my lower back pretty good.

It normally does not cause me any problems but once in a great while I’ll do something wrong and get reminded of it.

We run all of our water through a large filter and then through a water softener before it gets filtered again in the motorhome. The water softener with water in it weighs about 40lbs I guess. Not that much but when I store it for travel a lot of times like this one I lift it and hold it with one arm while I wipe the bottom off before storing in a compartment. And of course the compartment has a door that swings up so it creates an odd stance. Not one that promotes lifting with your legs.

Well this morning that odd stance took its toll and reminded me of my old injury. Just enough to make it an uncomfortable day for doing much of anything without some pain LOL!! Even the drive was somewhat uncomfortable at times.

Our travel day was about 115 miles and only took a couple hours. It was uneventful except for a stretch leading into and through Jacksonville Florida where there was a pretty stiff wind coming from the side and some road construction to add to the fun along with some moderate traffic LOL!! Oh well,, I’m getting pretty used to the heavier traffic over here on the east coast while driving the motorhome. It still bugs the crap out of me in the Jeep though.

After checking into our new home for the next 7 days at Indian Forest Campground and while setting up Diane came limping from around the rear of the motorhome which was odd because she is normally taking care of the inside while I take care of all the outside stuff.

I was pretty worried at first because she certainly is known for having back problems and when she has an episode she can be in pain for days on end. So inside she went to stretch out on the couch.

It turns out she tried to take that water softener out of the compartment so I wouldn’t strain my back any further and she dropped it on her big toe in the process!! Not that I was happy she got hurt but I was relieved it wasn’t her back.

Darn women,, I have told her before to leave that stuff to me because she was going to hurt herself LOL!! But you have to love her for thinking of me and trying.

Because both of us were having our problems we decided to just kick back and chill the rest of the day but we are looking forward to exploring St Augustine.

Founded in September 1565 by Don Pedro Menendez de Aviles of Spain, St. Augustine is the longest continually inhabited European-founded city in the United States – more commonly called the “Nation’s Oldest City.”

This entry was posted in A little about us and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

