Palm Springs Air Museum

Saturday Jan. 5th came and I was every bit as sore as I thought I’d be and maybe a bit more!!! 30 years of working on concrete has taken a toll on one of my knee’s and a ankle so I knew the beating I gave them with about 5 hours of Pickle Ball the day before was going to catch up to me. But my leg muscles were feeling there share of pain as well LOL!!

Diane was sore but didn’t seem as bad off as me. The only thing I can figure is that I ran the court more and played harder,,, yep,, that must be it. It’s the reason I’m sticking with anyway.

After getting up and doing my share of complaining and having breakfast we decided it was time to loosen up a bit so Diane took Jack for a 2 mile walk while I opted for a short 3 mile bike ride.

After our loosening up we showered and headed out to the Palm Springs Air Museum. Now mind you that between where we are in Indio and where the museum is in Palm Springs there are a few Good Will stores. And Diane’s thought was with those good will stores being located so close to the high end areas that there just HAD to be some good stuff LOL!! So of course we stopped. I was lucky enough that there was a Ferguson’s plumbing shop and a outdoor patio store by one and a tile and hardwood store by the other to keep me occupied while she shopped.

I won’t carry on about the Air Museum other than to say it was a very nice one that had plenty of Vet’s there that were more than happy to talk planes and anything that had to do with the war’s they had seen. And they all had a twinkle in there eye’s while talking about it.

IMG_3589 IMG_3587 IMG_3584 IMG_3582

This is a great story if you can read it

This is a great story if you can read it.

We spent a few hours walking around looking at everything and listening to a short talk one USAF retired vet gave. It was very interesting. He became a pilot at the age of 19 and began flying P38’s,, F86F’s and ended his career flying B52’s for his last 9 ½ years. He flew 56 missions over Vietnam and was flight leader for the Cuban Missile retaliatory strike force. I’m sure he had a lot more he could tell but would rather not.

IMG_3580

Let me share just a few of the many pictures we took.

IMG_3576

How did they fit in there

How did they fit in there!!!

IMG_3573 IMG_3571 IMG_3570 IMG_3569 IMG_3568 IMG_3567 IMG_3560

It was dark by the time we got back home so I fired up the BBQ and tossed a couple steaks on for dinner.

After dinner it was time for some time in the hot tub,, a little TV and then bed.

Another great day and the weather was fantastic.

And I thought this quote would be appropriate after a day at a air museum.

You do what you can for as long as you can, and when you finally can’t, you do the next best thing. You back up but you don’t give up.
Chuck Yeager

This entry was posted in A little about us. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Palm Springs Air Museum

  1. Larry says:

    Great photos Dave, too bad about the Good Will stores being so close together, LOL.

    lar On Sun 06/01/13 4:28 PM , Dave & Diane throwing caution to the wind comment-reply@wordpress.com sent: a:hover {color: red;}a {text-decoration: none;color: #0088cc;}a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; }a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }/* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; }}*/ Dave & Diane posted: “Saturday Jan. 5th came and I was every bit as sore as I thought I’d be and maybe a bit more!!! 30 years of working in concrete has taken a toll on one of my knee’s and a angle so I knew the beating I gave them with about 5 hours of Pickle Ball the day”

  2. Lela says:

    Hi Dave and Diane, looks like we will be in the same areas over the next couple of months.. We will be in Quartzsite the 22nd to the 27th and are still considering the RV-Dreams Boondocking Rally. You have recently done a couple of the projects we are interested in MCD shades and Solar.. Could you email me and let me know what your solar set up is and approx cost for both. Leedhambaja@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

